Teriyaki Umaibo Review (Taste Japan November 2014)

The first item from my November 2014 Taste Japan Box I tried was this Teriyaki flavoured Umaibo.

2014-11-11 14.16.05

The packaging features “Umaemon” who is apparently a play on “Doraemon” which is a popular character in Japan.

2014-11-11 14.19.49

Opening the package, the snack smelt strongly of meat flavoured crisps. Like steak flavoured Walkers or similar. I love steak flavoured crisps, so this bode well for me! The texture was very light and crispy, similar to Wotsits and the flavour was nice and fairly strong. The taste really reminds me of something – I think it might be the Nik Naks crisps that you sometimes see here.

Overall, this was a nice snack. If it was easily available here (or if I lived in Japan) I would probably buy it again. As it is though, it’s a bit too similar to other snacks we have here to consider importing it.

8/10

If you’d like to get your own Taste Japan box, you can sign up HERE for £15/month including shipping, If you do, make sure to let me know what you think of your box!

Leave a comment